The Papaya – Oil Painting tips from Los Angeles Gallery of Art K.L. Britton

Screen Shot 2018-07-04 at 6.58.58 PM

The Papaya

Oil on Panel 8″x8″

20180704_105209

I am very lucky to be surrounded by people who love art.  I met Marian at the Sean Cheetham workshop, and she invited me to work in her studio once a week.  We get together with some very incredible artists and practice speaking Mandarin and English, teaching each other about painting, and learning from Masters.  Here is our selection this week, with my Edge Pro Gear Paintbook Pro as my go-to for longer sessions, although with the 8″x8″ size of my panel, the Sketchbook Pro would have done very well.

20180704_105255

Our setup, some rich, luscious papaya slices and grapes!  Looked delicious.

20180704_105302

Here is a picture with my palette part of the way through.  Here you can see each “section” has it’s own area on the palette.  I can use these to mix with one another in order to show things like bounce light.  Ex, the green went into some of the shadows because the grapes were getting the light through them onto the fabric shadows.  Think about these things and mix enough of your colors that you can use some of it in unexpected areas.

Screen Shot 2018-07-04 at 6.58.58 PM

I almost would have loved to do a larger piece of this – get in there with a small brush and add detail, but I’m always on a time limit.  I do enjoy the way this looks finished, particularly the grapes!

Leave a comment